Newbie here.

This is for "Introductions". Tell us about YOUR P'up, and a little about yourself (if you like). This is also the place for updates, tall tales, etc. about YOUR P'up. No technical questions here, please.
Forum rules
This forum is to be Family Friendly.

This is for "Introductions". Tell us about YOUR P'up, and a little about yourself (if you like). This is also the place for updates, tall tales, etc. about YOUR P'up. Include photos of your truck, if available (See this for an example).

This is not the appropriate place for technical questions. Please post those in the appropriate Troubleshooting or Upgrades section.
Joeblack5
Isuzu vehicle(s): 1983 diesel 5 speed

Newbie here.

Post by Joeblack5 »

Howdy folks .finally happy to be on board. Chasing down a diesel pup for the last 5 years and it seems it is happening now.
1983 diesel five speed. Sat for the last 5 years outside in pa weather so the rocker panels are gone. Originally from washington with only surface rust .
Anyhow put a new battery in it, checked oil. Filled up coolant and just a click...no starter motor. .. found the direct solenoid wire and bypassed whatever is wrong between the starter relay and the starter solenoid. Fired up at the first turn. Pretty happy with that.
So this is now part of my 1980's ultra low power diesel collection.. including jeep cherokee 2.1 turbo diesel...mercedes G 4*4 OM 616 diesel...land rover pickup 2.5 diesel...lada niva 4*4 diesel 1.9..and a bunch of mercedes wagon diesels.

First gear is not engaging and it could use a new front bench seat. Needs tires and some lights fixed..
Thanks for having this site.

Johan
Lada niva diesel..jeep pioneer 2.1 turbo diesel...mercedes GD240D....land rover 2.5D pickup.
JoeIsuzu
Site Admin
Isuzu vehicle(s): Original owner, '83 LS Diesel, 5-spd, 2wd, Long Bed, restoration in progress!

Re: Newbie here.

Post by JoeIsuzu »

Welcome to the site, Johan!

I was part of the same club. My history:
1980 VW Rabbit diesel
1983 P'up